National Council for Science Museum

National Council of Science Museums is the premier institution of science communication in the country functioning under the Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India. Formed in 1978 to develop infra structure in imparting science communication and inculcating scientific temper, the council has 26 science centres functioning directly under it today, apart from several centres which are handed over to local governments on completion.

The Puducherry Science Centre & Planetarium is formally handed over to the Department of Science, Technology and Environment Govt of Puducherry and is being opened on 3rd May 2015 by Dr Mahesh Sharma Hon’ble Minister for Culture & Tourism, Govt. of India,  Lt. General Ajay Kumar Singh (Retd.) Hon’ble Lt. Governor of Puducherry and Thiru N. Rangasamy Hon’ble Chief Minister, Government of Puducherry in the august presence of Thiru T. Thiagarajan, Hon’ble Minister for S & T and Environment and other dignitaries.

The Science Centre and the Planetarium will be open to the public from 4th May 2015 from 10 am to 5.30 pm daily except on National and notified holidays.